Ras Moel Y Ci          Sat 11th February          Results       Pictures

Well, what a brilliant day!

136 runners turned out for this challenging little race early on in the mountain running season. The weather wasn’t quite as Derek Brockway predicted, with rain pretty much throughout the day. However, that definitely softened the course and the stickier mud may have slowed the field down slightly and prevented the record that was set in 2012 from being broken. Photos taken on the day suggest that the lead runners jostled for position at various stages in the race, and some big names in local fell running had those of us on the finish line trying to predict the finishing order, which we got with a reasonable degree of accuracy...

First over the line was Math Roberts, running for St David’s, in a brilliant time of 36.27. Next in was Gareth Wyn Hughes, running for Mercia Fell Runners, in 37.27. Not far behind was Lloyd Taggart, running for Manx Fell Runners, in 38.55. Lloyd also won the V40 category and beat plenty of young runners in the process. Respect!

Turning to the ladies; Miranda Grant, running for Eryri, kept up her fine current form by storming through as the first woman over the line in 43.45, with Sarah Ridgeway (Mercia Fell Runners) second woman in 44.31 and also claiming the V40 category too. Not too far behind Sarah was Andrea Rowlands of Eryri in 46.42.

The V50 male and female categories were won by Steve Toogood of Buckley Runners (45.08) and Emma Collins of Denbigh Harriers (55.08) respectively. The men’s V60 category was won by Stephen P Jones of Eryri (AKA SPJ, AKA last year’s horse whisperer), in a time of 45.02, and faster than the fastest V50. The ladies V60 category was won by Maggie Oliver of Eryri in 72.59. The V70 prize went to John Morris of Buckley Runners in a time of 58.25. No V70 women entered.

We had 14 young runners enter the junior race, which was won by Gwion Rhys Evans of Eryri Harriers in a fantastic time of 12.10. William Johnson of St David’s wasn’t far behind Gwion, coming over the line in 12.13. In third place was Celt Lloyd Jones (unattached) in a time of 12.23.

It was a fantastic day from my point of view, made successful by the amazing team of volunteers who helped me throughout the day. Thanks so much to all the marshals out in the elements: Evan Williams, Karl Dobson, Steve Barnard, Eurwyn Edwards, Mike Blake, Dafydd Whiteside-Thomas, Edwin Roberts, Judy Jones, Sue and Roy Hughes, Adam Charlton, Jim and Sheila Bennell, and Peter and Linda Jeavons. Thanks to Tamsin Jessup and Dilwyn Rowlands for being sweeper in the junior race and senior race respectively. To the runners who turned up early to help with car parking duties, before pulling on their fell shoes and joining everyone on the start line for the race: Ross Roberts, John Humphries, Richard Borne and Ellie Salisbury. Thanks to Alan “Wils” Williams for his laptop skills and producing results. And a special thanks to the “A Team” for making sure that registration, finish line times and first aid were all taken care of in such a professional way: Sioned Rowlands, Rhian Thomas, Tina McDonnell, and Nia Albiston.

Finally, thanks to Julie Rogers and the staff at Ffarm Moelyci for their continuing support for the race.

Hopefully see you all back next year.

Diolch yn fawr iawn.         Gary