Fan Fawr      Sat 1st October     2 miles 1000ft     Photos by Jane Aggleton    Results

Dark clouds beckoned for the 28th Fan Fawr Fell Race but thankfully conditions remained clear and dry for the duration of this short and sharp South Wales Classic. A 10 year best of 72 runners headed out to tackle a 1000ft in 1 mile. First to summit was eventual winner Lloyd Donavan running strongly on the descent to hold his lead and take the win by 36 seconds. Second, and M50 category winner, was Mark Palmer (Mynydd Du) who held off a late charge from third placer Dan Bodman (Aberdare Valley) by a mere 2 seconds. MDC’s finest took the M40 & M60 categories thanks to Rhys Williams and John Aggleton.

Katie Beecher (Les Croupiers) comfortably took the senior women’s title in a fine 22:30 ahead of Hannah Walsh (24:20 – Bristol & West AC) and Nat Taylor (24:33 – Mynydd Du).
Sasha Habgood (MDC) took the F40 category in 26:10 and Rona Davies (Mynydd Du) ran a great race to take F50 title in an excellent 24:40.

Huge thank you to all Marshalls for ensuring all went smoothly for this first time race organiser! Next South Wales Winter Hill series race will be the Sugar Loaf Fell Race 29th Saturday.