Craig yr Allt Summer Fell Race Report        Results

Haydn Griffiths                         Mike Erskine Winner

Nikki Pritchard Female Winner

90 competitors started the 6.2km long race (with over 300m ascent) at the foot of the Rockwood Riding Centre access road on the warm but cool Tuesday evening awaiting the Race Director's briefing. The route climbed to the top of Craig yr Allt on its eastern flanks before descending down an indistinct trod to the north. The participants then contoured the northern hillside before ascending a re-entrant, running along the ridge and down to the Taff Trail through trails, paths, fields and woodland. Following a short section on the Taff Trail, the participants crossed a stream, ascended a very steep field used by 4x4s and then descended into the Nant y Brynau valley. The next kilometre ascended the valley floor through woodland before climbing the steep northern valley side and finish in the Mountain View Ranch.

Some of the runners even experienced “high fives” from a landowner’s children part way through the race!
Mike Erskine (Les Croupiers) won the race in a time of 31m 13s. David Lawson (MDC) finished second in 31m 32s and Hopcyn Matthews came third in 33m 13s.
Niki Morgan (Mynydd Du) was the first female in a time of 38m 34s, followed by Ellie Lacey (San Domenico) in 40m 1s and Alice Bedwell (MDC) in 40m 7s.

Age category winners:

MU18 – Rhys Owen Lloyd (Roberttown Runners) 47:54
MU23 – Hopcyn Matthews (Cardiff Tri) 33:13
M40 – Rhodri Evans (Pontypridd Roadents) 36:35
M50 – Peter Sowerby (Brecon AC) 36:29
M60 – John Aggleton (MDC) 37:02

FU23 – Lucy Allen (Carduro) 40:12
F40 – Liz May (Pontypridd Roadents) 44:24
F50 – Niki Morgan (Mynydd Du) 38:34
F60 – Fiona Davies (Pontypridd Roadents) 42:48

MDC won the Male Team Prize and San Domenico won the Female Team Prize.
The Race Director would also like to the landowners for enabling the use of their land - both public footpaths and private sections. A big thanks to the marshalls, helpers, sweeper and photographers too: Dawn Davies, Gill Stott, Caroline Dallimore, Martin & Kay Lucas, Keri & Pauline James, Richard Cronin, Martyn Driscoll, Derek Thornley, Haydn Griffiths, Rob West and Marcus Pinker.
The Race Director was delighted to have one junior participant at the event (well done Rhys Owen Lloyd!) and would like to remind all that the race is suitable for the younger generation over the age of 14. Why not drag some along to the 2019 Summer Event?       Regards        Gary