Llanthony Sat 26th March    Results   Pics by Alastair   and South Wales Winter Series Final Results

Photos from Annoymousecoward          Video of the Race

Warm Spring sunshine and very firm going don’t seem quite the right setting for the Llanthony Winter race, but we didn’t hear anyone complain. Gareth Hurst of the Royal Marines finally got his first win after overhauling Hugh Aggleton (MDC) down the last steep field before the dash to the Abbey wall. Only 23 seconds short of Pete Ryder’s 2009 record, and good enough to give Gareth the Series gold medal.

Les Croupiers Club from Cardiff city centre, not noted for fell-running, gave us first woman in the shape of Katy Beecher, only 29 seconds outside Helen Fines’ record.

Steve Harrhy (Lliswerry) took 6th place and first M40; Hugh’s dad John (MDC) was M50 winner, only 48 seconds adrift of Steve; and Dai Smout of Parc Bryn Bach was M60 winner.

Brecon’s (and Finland’s) Satu Haikala took F40 honours, while Chepstow’s Joc Dodd in her first ever race on the mountains was F50 winner.

At the presentation In the Abbey Hotel, due appreciation from the runners was given to marshals Kay Lucas and Del Thornley, course marker Andy Stott, timekeepers John Chidlow and Ian Wade, and photographers Becka Werner and Al Tye.