Ras Moel Y Ci         Tregarth, Gwynedd BS / 5m / 950ft 26.02.2011    Results       Pics by Alastair

Warm spring weather and the first race in the Eryri Harriers mountain club championship brought 136 runners to the Moelyci Environmental Centre this year. Congratulations to Matthew Roberts of Eryri who won overall in 36.59. Math was followed 44 seconds later by Dave Aucott of Dark Peak at 37.43 in 2nd, also 1st MV40. On Dave’s heels 14 seconds later was Sam Smith of Eryri in 37.57 and 3rd overall. Congratulations to Andrea Rowlands of Eryri, first woman in 45.15 and 28th overall. Siobhan Evans (u/a) followed as 2nd in 46.44 (35th), with Ruth Metcalf of Eryri 3rd in 47.41 (40th). Martin Cliffe of Eryri took the MV40 prize as 2nd MV40 and 6th overall at 39.05, with Adam Haynes 1st MV50 at 43.13 (15th). Dafydd Whiteside-Thomas took MV60 at 51.01 (72nd). First FV40 was Sarah Hammond of Tattenhall in 48.19 (47th), with Annie Williams of Eryri in 1st FV50 at 51.47 (73rd) and Maggie Oliver of Eryri in 1st FV60 in 59.53 (116th). Two gifted junior men ran the full race; Nathan Jones of Colwyn Bay finished 5th overall in 38.48 and Callum Muskett of Eryri finished 14th overall in 42.35.

The junior race winner was Ryan Cain of Menai Track & Field in 9.38 with Elen Norris first girl at 4th in 12.43. Seven juniors ran.

Many thanks go to the Centre staff, marshals, ‘Team Dolly’ radio network, the registration and finish team, friends and families. Projects at the Moel y Ci Environmental Centre focus on sustainability, local produce, local employment and crafts (www.moelyci.org).