CRIBYN 2010    Results     Pics from Alastair

The second race in the Inov8/WFRA Welsh Open Championships was the Cribyn Fell Race, on May 15th. Although a short race at 5.5m, with 3100 feet of ascent, it's a tough one. The sun came out and a quality field of 97 runners started the race.

Tim and Andrew Davies finished 1st and 2nd respectively for Mercia, depriving last years winner, Shaun Godsman (Calder Valley) of a double. They were closely followed by a group of Welsh runners from North and South, with local Mynydd Du runner Crispin Flower coming home first MV40.

WFRA secretary Ross Powell won the MV50 category, with first MV60 Don Williams just a few minutes behind, sporting bandages from the previous week's Carneddau race. Pete Norman from Wrexham won the MV70 category.

The women's race was close, with Jenny Heming (Eryri) sealing a good win from Phoebe Webster (Aberystwyth). Helen Marshall, also Aberystwyth, was 3rd. Clwydian runner Sandra Rowlands came home first FV40, and Gill Stott took home the FV50 prize for another local club MDC.

Thanks to everyone who helped on the day, and everyone who travelled down to race. Greyhound Rescue West of England will be getting a useful donation from the race entries.

Finally, special award for World Class numptiness goes to the anonymous caller who followed his satnav to my home address instead of the race venue. Not sure at what point he realised there are no fells in Gloucester !

Next race in the Inov8/WFRA Welsh Open Championship series is Foel Fras (long) on June 12th.