Craig yr Allt      Sat 24th January    Results     Pics from Jane Aggleton

This was the second year that the race was held and attracted a marginally larger field of 87 runners. The field would have been slightly larger however an accident on the motorway delayed a few runners from making the registration in time.

Whilst the weather immediately before the race was the same as last year, the weather during the race was very different thankfully. The pre-race sunshine continued for the duration of the race and for post-race prize-giving too. It was 7-8 deg C with a mild 9mph wind from the WNW.

The race started at the foot of the access road to Rockwood Riding Centre (from Blackbrook Road) and took the most direct route to the summit before traversing off the path towards the north. The runners then had to run a long muddy flat section, then make another ascent to the ridge before descending towards the Taff Trail via the technical descent near the zig zags by the mast. The subsequent Taff Trail section enabled the road runners to stretch their legs however this was followed by a long ascent to the summit before a short descent to the finish near the northern edge of the Access Land boundary.

Sebastien Krogvig and Ben Moon (MDC) had a great duel at the front of the pack with Sebastien pipping Ben to the finish line by a split second in a time of 29m 40s, ten seconds outside the course record set by Chris Jones (MDC) in 2014. Daniel Hooper (Sarn Helen) just managed to make the race start after negotiating a motorway queue and finished in third in a time of 30m 02s.

In the ladies category, Katie Beecher (Mynydd Du) smashed last year’s course record in a time of 32m 00s. Niki Morgan (Mynydd Du) finished in 2nd in a time of 37m 35s and retained the FV40 title from 2014. Caitlin Pearson (Les Croupiers/MDC) finished third in a time of 38m 23s.

MV40 Winner – Daniel Hooper (Sarn Helen) also 3rd overall
FV40 Winner - Niki Morgan (Chepstow Harriers) also 2nd lady overall

MV50 – Paul Dodd (Chepstow Harriers)
FV50 – Julie Scholey (Les Croupiers)

MV60 – Michael Murphy (Les Croupiers)
FV60 – Joyce Dodd (Chepstow Harriers)

MV70 – Rob West (MDC)

Gary and Dawn would like to thank all the volunteers and marshalls particularly Martin & Kay Lucas, Derek Thornley, Ange Champion, John Aggleton (sweeper), John Chidlow (timekeeper) & Jane Aggleton (unofficial photographer!).

Runners and volunteers subsequently enjoyed delicious food and drink in the canteen at Mountain View Ranch who kindly let us use their parking facilities for the large field of competitors. Gary & Dawn would also like to thank the landowners Tony and Alison Dascombe who granted permission for using their land for the race.     Thanks      Gary & Dawn Davies