Machen Mountain Race      Monday 25th August        Results        

Photos at 0.5 miles        Photos at Summit         More photos from San Dom

The Machen Mountain race resurrected after a 3 year gap thanks to the kind intervention of a local Machen resident Nick Hale attracted 53 runners who braved an exceptionally wet Bank Holiday Monday. The pre-race favourite Hugh Aggleton (MDC) collected the trophy first presented in 1979 on the modified 4.45 Mile / 1100 foot course in 32:51 followed by Dan Bodman (Aberdare) 35 seconds behind and Tom Jeffrey (Les Croupiers) 5 seconds further back. In the women’s race another pre-race favourite Katie Beecher (Les Croupiers) won in 38:18 with Niki Morgan (Chepstow Harriers/Mynydd Du) second and Angela Jones (Fairwater Runners) third.

Ceri Donovan (Lliswerry Runners) was first FV35, Cathy Turner (Lliswerry Runners) was first FV45, Gill Stott (MDC/Chepstow Harriers) first FV55. Richard Johnson (Mynydd Du) beat Machen resident and former race winner Jeff Wherlock (Machen Miggly Moos Mountain Bike Club) to the MV40 prize, Steve Davies (Pontypool Runners) beat team mate and another former race winner Dimitri Vorres to the MV50 prize. Steve Herrington (Hereford Couriers) made the long trip worthwhile with the MV60 first place.

MDC (Hugh Aggleton, Ben Moon, Andy Stott) won the team prize.

The organising club San Domenico of Cardiff are hopeful that Machen will return to the WFRA calendar on a permanent basis.

Dominic Shields.