Llanbedr-Blaenafon    5th April 2014   Results

The 33rd Llanbedr to Blaenafon fell race saw 89 entrants setting off from the village of Llanbedr in damp conditions. Although not as cold as last year, the clouds were low enough to ensure that none of the spectacular views usually enjoyed were visible, which was a real shame as some had come from miles away to take part. Hugh Aggleton of MDC won the race in 2 hours 10 minutes, which was 5 minutes quicker than his winning time of last year, but 2 minutes short of his time in the 2012 event. As per the previous 2 years, Hugh was followed in by Mark Palmer of Mynydd Du, 2 hrs 17 mins. Mark is a veteran of this race, having competed a remarkable 14 times previously, winning it outright 7 times. Third man home was Chris Jones, also of MDC, in 2hrs 19.First lady home was newcomer Hannah Jaris (Mynydd Du), in 2hrs 40, well ahead of the 2nd lady Katie Roby of MDC who finished in 2hrs 51. Just on minute later, the 2012 winner Anna Bartlett finished to take 3rd Lady position.2 of the entrants in the inaugural event back in 1980 also took part – Dave Hayward now of Chepstow Harriers, and Les Williams Eryri, finishing in 3 hrs 20 and 3.22 respectively, 2nd and 3rd in their V60+ category.The last finisher came in at 4hrs 27 – and there were 5 non finishers. Once again all the participants enjoyed a hearty buffet to help them warm up again and replenish their energy reserves. The organisers would like to thank Blaenafon Rugby Club for their fantastic support for the event.