Llyn y Fan     Sunday 10th November 2013     Results

Llyn y Fan Winners

In this final race in the Inov8 Open Welsh Fell Race Championships, Tim Davies and Felipe Jones slugged it out for all of the 8.8km and 600m of climb. On a lovely, sunny if rather cold day, Tim edged ahead towards the top of the first climb, but Felipe came back hard on the steep descent off the last checkpoint and chased Tim all the way to finish. “I think the hard chase must have taken the edge off Felipe’s finishing kick, and I just managed to put a couple of seconds into him by the line” said Tim who consolidated his Open Welsh Champs award.

The winning time of 42.30 was 40 seconds behind the 2006 record set by this year’s fourth-placer and first M50 Mark Palmer.

First woman Mel Price was over three minutes ahead of Under23 Megan Carter Davies, with Emma Bayliss another two minutes adrift. Mel also confirmed herself as F40 Welsh Champion.

Ben Mitchell, Martin Cliffe, Martin Cortvriend, Rob West, Susan Howarth (Welsh F50 Champion) and Maggie Oliver (Welsh F60 Champion) took the other age category awards.

Dick Finch