Brecon Beacons     Sat 10th August    Results

The race is well established in the Welsh Fell Running calendar and entails running to seven mandatory checkpoints (including Tor y foel, Corn Ddu, Pen y Fan and Cribyn) from near the foot of the Talybont Reservoir dam. The race is approximately 30.6km long with 1372m ascent and qualifies as a long race. It changes direction every year and was run anticlockwise this year with a run to the Carn Pica cairn to start.

The Brecon Beacons were blessed with sunshine and a cool refreshing breeze (on the summits) to greet 36 runners. The dry and pleasant 18-22 deg C conditions were similar to those encountered last year. That’s two years of dry weather on the trot! Hugh Aggleton (MDC) took an early lead in the race and distanced himself by over two minutes from Mark Palmer (Mynydd Du) and Sean Taylor (Mynydd Du) by the first manned checkpoint at Carn Pica. The gap gradually increased as the race progressed and he finished 10 minutes ahead of his rivals with a time of 2hr 43m 30s. Mark Palmer and Sean Taylor maintained their second and third positions in the male category however an impressive Jackie Lee (Eryri) managed to finish in third place overall with a time of 3hr 11m 21s. It was the fastest time set by a female in at least 7 years; Helen Fines set a time of 3hrs 12m 58s in 2008. Jackie’s pace at the start of the race started whispers of a potential new female record but Lydia Gould’s record of under 3hrs is to be maintained for at least another year!

Riina Kuuselo (Club tbc) finished in a very impressive seventh place overall and 2nd female with a time of under 3hr 30m.

She informed the race organiser that it was her first ever fell running race. Even more impressive! Emma Bayliss (Mynydd Du) secured third place in the ladies category with a time of under 4 hrs.

Dave Powell (Aberystwyth AC) comfortably won the male over 50 category with a time of 3hr 17m 05s and secured fifth place overall. Gary Gunner (Croft Ambrey) continues to put in strong performances and finished with a win in the MO60 category in a time of under 4hr 30m. Lou Summers (Mynydd Du) and Natalie Taylor (Team Endurancelife) both came into together with big smiles in 4hr 7m to secure the female O40 category and the coveted “Nearest 4hr” prizes respectively.

The podium finishers and the winners in each age category were awarded with a souvenir photo mug and a selection of wines and ales/

The race organisers, Gary and Dawn Davies would like to thank each of the ten volunteers. Without them, the race would fail to exist.