Cwmdu     Sat 25th May    Results

On the first warm sunny for a long time, the two leading South Wales mountain running teams – Mynyddwyr de Cymru and Mynydd Du – vied for the top places in the first running of this transformation of the old Mynydd Troed race.

MDC’s Hugh Aggleton and Matt Stott, and MD’s Mark Palmer set the pace and eventually built an eight-minute lead by the finish. Though Hugh stayed out in front from two thirds up the first climb, second place wasn’t settled until Matt pulled away on the tricky final descent to the finishing 400 metres of lane.

Aberystwyth’s Lauren Jeska made a rare journey South to take control of the women’s contest but Chepstow’s Niki Morgan kept the gap to a minute and a half at the end. Sian Roberts from TROTS was a further minute and a half back in third. Age group winners were Mark Palmer, Niki Morgan, Ade Woods, Sharon Woods, Gary Gunner and Rob West.
Dick Finch